I: An Introduction

Allow me to introduce myself. I am Katie: human, musician, scholar, nerd, vendor of frozen yogurt, holder of opinions, bearer of fardels. The entire purpose of this blog to expel things from my brain in a semi-organized, mildly entertaining fashion. There will be education, there will be obscure references, there will be chaos. Do I sound pretentious? Yes. Am I actually pretentious? No, not really, I hope. I just speak with obscenely correct grammar (child of an English teacher) and like to sound like I know what I’m talking about. I am a firm believer in “Fake it ’til you make it.” If I sound smart, you will probably think I am.

Moving on.

The title of this blog comes from Shakespeare’s “Much Ado About Nothing,” Act 2, Scene 1: “She speaks poniards, and every word stabs.” I used the original French spelling of the Anglicized word “poniard”. For those of you who are unaware, a poignard is a long, narrow dagger, most notable as the murder weapon of one Monsieur Jean-Paul Marat during the French Revolution.

But I digress.

While the title sounds like it belongs to a the blog of a very outspoken feminist activist trying to persuade you to do something or other, its real purpose serves more to remind me to say things that are worthwhile — things that will stab you in the brain, if you will. It’s a nice little reminder to keep it sharp, keep it witty, and stay on topic (the last of which I am truly terrible at doing).

Bear with me, folks.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

